Cornwall 365 What's On
Clear dates

Events Happening at Wheal Martyn

Wheal Martyn

Wheal Martyn, Saint Austell, United Kingdom

View event details

Get directions

Wheal Martyn

Set in 26 acres of grounds and based around two former Victorian china clay works, Wheal Martyn tells the story of Cornwall’s billion-pound china clay industry.

Interpretation panels feature throughout the museum, which illustrate how Cornwall’s Clay Country shaped the lives, economy and local landscape. Visitors can learn how the region’s largest mining industry formed the lives of those who lived and worked in this area over a period of 250 years.

Situated near to St Austell, and with a unique backdrop historically known as the ‘White Pyramids’, Wheal Martyn features the UK’s only china clay mining museum. Visitors can get under the skin of Cornwall’s mining heritage at the on-site exhibition and museum, which brings the story to life through a vast collection of artefacts and archives, as well as historic objects, machinery and photographs.

A fascinating family-friendly venue, children can enjoy exploring the museum and its grounds, and there’s plenty to capture their imaginations, including a large waterwheel, outdoor play area and vintage trucks. There are also lots of trails and walks to experience, and keen birdwatchers can spot the various species of birds that exist in these spectacular grounds.

The on-site cafe serves up homemade and locally sourced fresh food, and features a children’s menu which includes a selection of small meals which they can tuck into before burning off some energy in the children’s area.

Take a trip to this one-off attraction and immerse yourself in a story which has completely transformed the local area. For more information, visit http://www.wheal-martyn.com/.

categories Cornish & Heritage, Outdoor

Love Your Heritage Trail

Sat 3rd Feb, 2024 — Sun 25th Feb, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £0 — £0

categories C365 Box Office, Live Music

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra: Fault Lines

Wed 6th Mar, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £6 — £12

Book Now
categories Live Music

Fault Lines

Wed 6th Mar, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £6 — £30

categories Cornish & Heritage, Live Music

A Cornish evening with Will Keating

Thu 7th Mar, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £5 — £15

categories Art, Family

British Science Week Family Drop-In

Sat 9th Mar, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

categories Live Music

Alex Hart in Concert

Sat 16th Mar, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £12 — £12

categories Cornish & Heritage, Outdoor

Waste-not Clothes Swap Fundraiser

Thu 21st Mar, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Creative Springtime Activities

Fri 29th Mar, 2024 — Fri 12th Apr, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

categories Cornish & Heritage, Workshops

Stitches

Fri 2nd Feb, 2024 — Fri 19th Apr, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £0 — £0

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage

Our Fading Heritage (Exhibition)

Fri 5th Jan, 2024 — Sun 21st Apr, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

categories Community, Cornish & Heritage

Memory Café

Mon 26th Feb, 2024 — Mon 22nd Apr, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

categories Cornish & Heritage, Food & Drink

‘People of the Industry’ Breakfast

Sat 27th Apr, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £15 — £25

categories Cornish & Heritage, Outdoor

Hettie Hedgehog’s Great Adventure

Sat 16th Mar, 2024 — Sun 28th Apr, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

categories Community, Cornish & Heritage

Wheal Martyn Paws in the Park

Sun 28th Apr, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £0 — £14

categories Cornish & Heritage

Lowender Gans Kernewek

Mon 5th Feb, 2024 — Mon 13th May, 2024

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £0 — £0