Cornwall 365 What's On
Clear dates

Events Happening at Wheal Martyn

Wheal Martyn

Wheal Martyn, Saint Austell, United Kingdom

View event details

Get directions

Wheal Martyn

Set in 26 acres of grounds and based around two former Victorian china clay works, Wheal Martyn tells the story of Cornwall’s billion-pound china clay industry.

Interpretation panels feature throughout the museum, which illustrate how Cornwall’s Clay Country shaped the lives, economy and local landscape. Visitors can learn how the region’s largest mining industry formed the lives of those who lived and worked in this area over a period of 250 years.

Situated near to St Austell, and with a unique backdrop historically known as the ‘White Pyramids’, Wheal Martyn features the UK’s only china clay mining museum. Visitors can get under the skin of Cornwall’s mining heritage at the on-site exhibition and museum, which brings the story to life through a vast collection of artefacts and archives, as well as historic objects, machinery and photographs.

A fascinating family-friendly venue, children can enjoy exploring the museum and its grounds, and there’s plenty to capture their imaginations, including a large waterwheel, outdoor play area and vintage trucks. There are also lots of trails and walks to experience, and keen birdwatchers can spot the various species of birds that exist in these spectacular grounds.

The on-site cafe serves up homemade and locally sourced fresh food, and features a children’s menu which includes a selection of small meals which they can tuck into before burning off some energy in the children’s area.

Take a trip to this one-off attraction and immerse yourself in a story which has completely transformed the local area. For more information, visit http://www.wheal-martyn.com/.

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Pottery Painting

Tue 27th Jul, 2021 — Thu 29th Jul, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £1 — £3.50

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Family ‘Forest School’ Activities

Mon 2nd Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £2 — £2

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Clay Piskie, Artist Demonstration

Tue 3rd Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Paint a Bug House

Tue 3rd Aug, 2021 — Thu 5th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £3 — £3

categories Live Music

NOVA Festival: Haydn and Mendelssohn Friday

Fri 6th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £6 — £15

Book Now
categories Festivals, Live Music

Nova Classical Music Festival

Fri 6th Aug, 2021 — Sat 7th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £6 — £18

categories Live Music

NOVA Festival: Trio Saturday

Sat 7th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £6 — £15

Book Now
categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Clay and Nature

Sat 7th Aug, 2021 — Sun 8th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £0.50 — £0.50

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Clay Piskie, Artist Demonstration

Tue 10th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Pottery Painting

Tue 10th Aug, 2021 — Thu 12th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £1 — £3.50

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Clay and Nature

Sat 14th Aug, 2021 — Sun 15th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £0.50 — £0.50

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Family ‘Forest School’ Activities

Mon 16th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £2 — £2

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Clay Piskie, Artist Demonstration

Tue 17th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Paint a Bug House

Tue 17th Aug, 2021 — Thu 19th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £3 — £3

categories Outdoor, Theatre

Twisted Tales Outdoors

Thu 19th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £8 — £10

categories Outdoor, Theatre

Twisted Tales Outdoors

Thu 19th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £10 — £12

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Clay and Nature

Sat 21st Aug, 2021 — Sun 22nd Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £0.50 — £0.50

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Creative Collage Workshops

Wed 25th Aug, 2021 — Thu 26th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £3 — £3

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Clay and Nature

Sat 28th Aug, 2021 — Sun 29th Aug, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £0.50 — £0.50

categories Art, Cornish & Heritage, Family

Clay and Nature

Sat 31st Jul, 2021 — Wed 1st Sep, 2021

Wheal Martyn, St Austell

  £0.50 — £0.50